Bringing this up from the comments because I think it's worth attention.
Any synchronicity, big or small, is awesome.
Today, in the car, Anna and I were discussing anger and Gurdjieff's methods of challenging it and handling it. Just as I was in the middle of saying something about how there was a difference between how I feel when I'm mad about something unimportant and when I'm mad about something that I really feel justified about...
Today, in the car, Anna and I were discussing anger and Gurdjieff's methods of challenging it and handling it. Just as I was in the middle of saying something about how there was a difference between how I feel when I'm mad about something unimportant and when I'm mad about something that I really feel justified about...
Church sign we're passing says: "We always have reasons for our anger. They are seldom good."
SYNCHRONICITY! THERE ARE NO COINCIDENCES!
SYNCHRONICITY! THERE ARE NO COINCIDENCES!
Anna is going to be adding her thoughts to this blog sometimes. I felt this was a good thing. We often do our magick together. We at least discuss it and theorize and learn together even if we work separate sigils for things and use totally different methods. We've done actual ritual work together a few times. It's always gone well so far.
Sometimes what I can bring and what Anna can bring to the table are so different. But it works really well. We complete each other in this, as in all things. *le sigh* I love my mate.
Had a great home-cooked dinner. My meatloaf decided that grease needed to pour off the sides of the pan however and start a grease fire in the oven. I noticed immediately, Fetch grabbing my attention just before it happened, threw the door open, shoved my hand toward the fire and willed the fire to smother out. It did. Immediately. So instantaneously that Anna glanced just as I opened the oven door and never even saw the fire.
There was no ritual to this. There was no sigil. Nothing to protect my mind ... I just did magick.
And I nearly fainted. I had to sit down and cover my eyes for a while, felt woozy and bleary.
Why?
This is exactly why we use sigils in the first place. Or runes. Or tarot. Or astrology.
Because the mass consensus-reality believes that there is no magick, our mind fights the idea of magick.
Just doing magick ... can damage our psyche. Because it shocks our belief... it shocks our mind away from a safe place where things make sense.
So we use methods, signs and archaic languages to shield our minds from the magick. These things act as a buffer, putting a bit of space and time between us "casting a spell" and "magick happening". Our minds come to deal with this better over time... and eventually we can overcome the need for the buffers. But I guess I'm not there quite yet.
At least... I'm not there without backlash. But instant magick? Instant Results? I did that today.
And saved a perfectly good meatloaf. I'm happy.
Arsh
I agree, it's a shock to our systems when we do magick. I'm a SLIder, which is basically street light interference (or for me, computer monitors and televisions... and electricity in general, before). However, to this day, I am trying to convince myself it was just me hyper noticing AS the events happened, and not my actual influence on them. It's like I don't want to believe all the magick and influence I have witness myself accomplishing in the world.
ReplyDeleteWith Sigils or other foci to buffer, the shock vanishes. But doing it instantly like that with such HUGELY UNDENYABLE results? ... like... Literally putting a fire out with a flick of my wrist? ... Yeah... it's hard not to let that hit my psyche. My conscious mind SCREAMED at me... It wanted something to go wrong to make up for it. My eyes burned, I had to sit down and stop feeling dizzy/woozy. It kinda sucked. lol
ReplyDeleteThen after a while, I realized my mind was making all of those responses up and I just demanded to myself (willed) for it to stop. It did. Immediately.
Hmm. I'll have to do a post on how placebos are magick.